Why Inspiring Happiness May be the Most Important Thing

Adam Walker
3 min readJan 29, 2020
Photo by Josh Felise on Unsplash

At my company Dragon Army, our purpose is to inspire happiness. I know that sounds lofty, like the kind of thing a company says so it can put it on a website to attract top talent. To some listeners, it may sound a little trite or hollow.

It’s not.

Inspiring happiness may be the most important thing any of us ever does. Life is short, often hard, and the quality of our lives varies moment by moment. But if we can inspire happiness for and in one another, it makes all our lives better.

Inspiring happiness improves two lives at once

If I inspire happiness in someone else’s life, both our lives are positively affected. I’m happier for having helped someone else. The person I helped is happier because, you know, I inspired happiness in them.

If I said to you, “if you give someone ten dollars, you will get ten dollars too.” How long would it take you to give away that money? And, if you could do that over and over and over again, wouldn’t you? Any smart person would give away as many ten-dollar bills as possible because, in doing so, they would become wealthy while making others wealthy!

That’s what inspiring happiness is like. By inspiring happiness in someone else, you become happier in the…

--

--

Adam Walker

Husband. Father of six. Wearer of fedoras. Serial entrepreneur. Nonprofit co-founder. I write about personal growth & leadership.