Who do you want to be? — While Daring Greatly

Adam Walker
3 min readJan 28, 2022

I’m rereading Atomic Habits. One of the main points early in the book is that habits get formed and reinforced based on who you think you are. Do you see yourself as a health nut? Then, you are more likely to create and sustain healthy habits. Do you see yourself as an academic? Then, you are more likely to create habits like reading or writing.

I’ve been thinking about who I think I am, or really, who I want to be. I want to be several versions of myself, but here are the first that come to mind.

  1. Great husband. All of my professional and personal bios start with “husband.” I do this because in a perfect world, this is the role I’ll be in longer than another other, and I want to do it well. This is also the role that lays the foundation for my family and my life, making it the most important.
  2. Great father. The next thing listed in all of my bios is “father.” I have an amazing dad and know the power of that for a person’s life. I want to be an amazing dad for my kids, setting them up for a future of possibilities with a foundation of love and support.
  3. Great friend. I hope people remember me as a great friend; I’m not sure there’s a greater honor. I want to support people to become the best version of themselves and spend time with people that help me become the best version of myself.

--

--

Adam Walker

Husband. Father of six. Wearer of fedoras. Serial entrepreneur. Nonprofit co-founder. I write about personal growth & leadership.