“While Daring Greatly” are the words I want to describe my life

Adam Walker
2 min readJan 23, 2020
Man daring to stand on the edge of a cliff to look down

I have been thinking of renaming my thought leadership channels (Website, YouTube Channel, Personal Podcast) for a while, but I couldn’t find the right phrase. I wanted something to capture the spirit of how I live daily and the aspiration of how I want my life to unfold.

I started to look at quotes that have inspired me. And, this quote, from Theodore Roosevelt was first on the list.

It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat. (emphasis mine)

The phrase that struck me as a read this quote again was, “while daring greatly.” That is what I want to do and how I want to be known. I want to:

--

--

Adam Walker

Husband. Father of six. Wearer of fedoras. Serial entrepreneur. Nonprofit co-founder. I write about personal growth & leadership.