What my white daughter starting Chinese School taught me about privilege

Adam Walker
3 min readJan 21, 2020
Two kids smiling in front of their school

Recently my white daughter started Chinese School. Chinese School is a school, typically for Chinese people, that meets on Saturdays and focuses on teaching children about China, Chinese culture and the Chinese language.

My Chinese son started Chinese school last semester, so this semester, his sister wanted to join. This way, they will be able to speak Mandarin together, and she may be able to talk to her new brother (we are adopting) when he comes home from China in a few months.

Walking my daughter into a school where she is the only white person was odd and uncomfortable. She was nervous, starting a new school, looking different, studying something utterly foreign to her. But, she walked in next to her brother with courage and excitement.

I have to admit; I was a little uncomfortable. Everyone spoke to one another in Mandarin. Even though I’m learning Mandarin, I only understand single words here and there, and cannot make out conversations or phrases.

I was nervous for my daughter as well. Knowing she was the only white person, I had to consider things like, will she be accepted? Will the teacher favor her, or ignore her? Will other kids talk to her or make fun of her? Will she get past her insecurities and learn what she is here to learn?

--

--

Adam Walker

Husband. Father of six. Wearer of fedoras. Serial entrepreneur. Nonprofit co-founder. I write about personal growth & leadership.