What I want from my new normal

Adam Walker
3 min readApr 14, 2020
Photo by Red Zeppelin on Unsplash

With my life up-ended and my time at home, I’m thinking about getting back to normal. But, as I think about it, I’m not sure I can or want to get back to normal as it was. After this quarantine, we will have to find a new normal. I will have to find a new normal. So, here are a few things I want from my new normal.

A mix of working out and in

I have worked exclusively from home. I have worked exclusively from an office. Both those extremes can be a little much. A combination of working from home and an office seems just right.

Time in the office is excellent for connecting with people, communicating, and building relationships. Time working from home is great for getting deep work done and maximizing my time. Both have value. I want a flexible mix of the two.

A slower pace

One beautiful thing about quarantine is the pace. This time is probably the slowest pace my life has been at since I was a kid, off for summer break, and still too young to work. Somewhere along the way, I accepted that a breakneck pace is the only way to live, now I remember that isn’t true. As things go to a new normal, I want to maintain a slower, more thoughtful pace in my work and personal life.

More intentional communication

--

--

Adam Walker

Husband. Father of six. Wearer of fedoras. Serial entrepreneur. Nonprofit co-founder. I write about personal growth & leadership.