The Power of Being Hard to Offend

Adam Walker
2 min readJan 24, 2020
Angry looking cat

I’m hard to offend. It works for me. I can take people telling me hard things and things I think are wrong. I have found this is a powerful tool for dealing with people and making the best of situations.

Being hard to offend is a choice I made years ago, for a few reasons:

  1. It’s less drama. Because I’m hard to offend, there is much less drama in my life. I don’t care what people think or do.
  2. I’m less upset. I’m hard to offend, so I don’t get angry or upset with people easily, improving my quality of life.
  3. I can believe the best. I choose not to be offended. That allows me to believe the best in someone. If I didn’t get invited to the party, instead of being offended, I assume they forgot to hit send on the email invite.
  4. It makes me a better person. People that are always offended are hard to be around. They are stressed and angry. I don’t want to be that guy.

How do you become hard to offend?

Becoming someone hard to offend is pretty straightforward. It only requires one mindset and one practice, and in no time, you will be all set.

  1. Believe the best. In every situation that seems negative, believe the best in people. If someone says something offensive, assume they didn’t intend the…

--

--

Adam Walker

Husband. Father of six. Wearer of fedoras. Serial entrepreneur. Nonprofit co-founder. I write about personal growth & leadership.