Let’s talk about working from home

Adam Walker
4 min readMar 12, 2020
Photo by Paolo Nicolello on Unsplash

I ran a virtual company for ten years. It started with just me and a business partner and later evolved to a team of ten to fifteen people, all working from home and collaborating on projects.

Knowing that a lot of people are about to start working from home more, I thought I would share a few things I learned in my 10+ years of working with a virtual team.

Getting work done at home

Don’t get too comfortable

When you first start working from home, it’s tempting to work from the couch with the TV on, don’t do it. If you put yourself in the same position to work that you usually take to relax, relaxation is going to win every time. Consider working from your kitchen table (like I am right now), a desk, the patio, or some other place that is not primarily for relaxation.

Keep your usual schedule

When working from home, it’s tempting to sleep in and work late. Don’t do it. If you are used to a work schedule, keep that schedule, shifting it will make you lose productivity.

Focus intensely, then take breaks

When working from home it’s easy to work continuously with no breaks, but that’s not great for overall productivity and happiness. I love…

--

--

Adam Walker

Husband. Father of six. Wearer of fedoras. Serial entrepreneur. Nonprofit co-founder. I write about personal growth & leadership.